Qtractor Automation

I wanted to learn about automation in Qtractor and decided to create a fade out.

I created a simple session containing one track with a sustained chord from bar 2 through the end of bar 11. I named the track “Long Chord.”

I clicked the [A] button associated with the Long Chord track in order to select an automation option. I selected the track’s volume (“Long Chord Volume”).
This changed the track’s color and displayed a red line along the top of the track (since in this case the track’s volume was currently set to maximum).

I then clicked the [A] button again and selected Mode > Linear.

From the menu bar, I selected Edit > Select Mode > Automation. (Alternatively, I could have enabled the Automation button in the main toolbar.)

I clicked near the top of the track at bar 4 to create an automation node. I clicked again at the bottom of the track at bar 12 to create a second node. The track then displayed a descending ramp from the first node at bar 4 through the second node at the beginning of bar 12.
I clicked the track’s [A] button again and selected Play to enable the automation. The downward arrowhead on the button turned green.
I played the track. As expected, the volume started fading out at bar 4 and the track’s mixer volume control moved along with the fade out.

I noted that the initial position of a node doesn’t have to be exact — it can be moved later.

One thought on “Qtractor Automation

  1. Pingback: Getting Started with Qtractor | Making Music with Free Software

Leave a Reply

